Gelatin Capsule Information

Gelatin capsules are a very common method used for taking herbal supplements, vitamins or your own custom dietary supplement blends. They have become much more popular in recent years as our society is now more health conscience and aware of the powerful benefits of all natural herbs.

Gelatin is the original material used to produce empty capsules and is also the most popular. It is derived from an animal byproduct known as collagen, which is obtained from the organs and connective tissues of the animals. This is often a turnoff for some people who have dietary or religious issues with ingesting animal byproducts, however, there are some advantages of taking this form of capsule.

Advantages of Gelatin Capsules

So why should you choose taking your herbal supplements in gelatin capsules as opposed to their vegetarian counterpart? The most obvious advantage is that they are cheaper than veg capsules, which is often times the most important factor buyers consider when choosing between the two forms. There are other advantages of choosing gel caps, which include:

  • Easy to swallow
  • Help mask odors and bad tasting supplements
  • Easily dissolve after digested
  • Available in sizes 3, 2, 1, 0, 00 & 000 (View Size Chart)

Disadvantages of Gelatin Capsules

For some people, taking their supplements in gelatin capsules just isn’t an option since they are made from animal byproducts. Vegetarians and people with religious dietary restrictions should choose vegetarian capsules instead.

Another important factor to consider is what you are going to be filling your capsules with. Gelatin capsules are perfect for any powdered substance you may be taking, but they are not suited to be used with any liquid or gel formulations. The reason for this is that the gelatin will quickly break down, forming holes in the capsule that the liquid will then leak through.

What Are Gelatin Capsule’s Ingredients?

Our gelatin capsules are completely tasteless, odorless and colorless, making them very easy to swallow as long as you pick the correct capsule size. But what are these gelatin capsules actually made of? As mentioned before, they are an animal byproduct made from 100% bovine hide gelatin, also known as cow skin. They are also all 100% BSE-free, meaning they are free from mad cow disease.

What else should you know about our gelatin capsules? They are all:

  • Preservative free
  • Allergen free
  • Gluten free
  • Non GMO
  • Kosher certified
  • Halal certified

Certificates of Analysis are available upon request. Just ask us here and we’ll send it either by email or snail mail, whatever you prefer.

Storing Gelatin Capsules

Capsules should always be stored in a cool and dry place to keep them from cracking or getting deformed. Gelatin capsules' optimal temperature is 59°-77°Fahrenheit / 15°-25°Celsius with a relative humidity between 35-65%. If the capsules are stored in the proper conditions, they can last for up to five years before they expire.

Conclusion

This form of empty capsules are a very cost effective and easy way for you to take your powdered herbal supplements. As long as you don’t have any issues ingesting animal byproducts and aren’t using the capsules to take a liquid or gel, then gelatin capsules are probably the right choice for you.

Shop Gelatin Capsules Learn About Vegetarian Capsules

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

and save 10% on Your First Purchase

Special instructions for seller

Subtotal

Shipping & taxes calculated at checkout

It appears that your cart is currently empty!

Continue Browsing